Personal DVD Collections

Some people spend a fortune creating their own personal DVD collections.  They purchase DVDs for $14 dollars and up and then place them on a shelf where they are rarely watched.  I see people buying DVDs at the grocery store all the time and wonder to myself,  “why are they buying when they can rent?”

I have to admit that I have a few DVD titles that I own.  Some have been gifts and some have been purchased, but the total is probably around 10 or 12 titles–hardly a collection.  Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not dissing people who have collections, I just don’t understand the logic.

When I want to see a move, I rent it.  Blockbuster, Netflix, and others make movie titles easily available.  For the cost of one purchase, I can rent the same or different movies 4 or 5 times.  Most people don’t watch a DVD more than once or twice anyway.  Why not rent and spend the money on other things?

Another reason to rent is that the media can become outdated when the technology changes.  For instance, everything is switching to Blue-Ray High Definition.  Remember how DVDs made VHS tapes obsolete overnight?  It doesn’t make sense to invest too heavily in DVD technology because you may end up having to re-purchase your favorite titles in a different format. 

I can think if a few exceptions where buying you own copy makes sense. 

  • If you have kids.  They will watch it over and over giving parents a well deserved break. 
  • If you like hard to find titles.  Better to own them so you can watch them anytime.
  • If you have short term memory problems and like to watch the same thing over and over and over and over and over.
  • If you are making a statement.  When your friends visit, you can impress them with your collection.
  • If you enjoy sharing movies.  You can loan out or trade titles with your friends.
  • If you want to own the “classics”. 
  • If your entire collection is pirated.
  • If you are worried that rented DVDs may have germs from other people.

Other than that, I can’t think of any more reasons. What do you think?

2 Responses

  1. I used to buy movies all the time, now I just got my friends to use http://www.whatyah.com and we just trade movies that way we never buy the same movies.

  2. man i get my movies from an undisclosed place, naa mean?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

