10 Reasons Why Life Is Like A Roller Coaster

I was recently at Knotts Berry Farm with my wife and decided to ride a roller coaster.  While waiting in line, I was thinking about some of the similarities between life and a roller coaster ride.

  1. Both start with a big drop.
  2. Both have ups and downs.
  3. It doesn’t really matter if you sit in the front or the back — everyone has a similar experience.
  4. Both require participation – watching just isn’t the same.
  5. Both can be fun one minute and terrifying the next.
  6. Both can make you scream and throw up.
  7. Both are more fun when shared with others.
  8. Both require that you follow the rules for your safety.
  9. Both came in many shapes, designs, and colors.
  10. Both go very fast and don’t last long enough.
30 Responses

  1. This is soooo true! But I’d like to add that both are wonderful adventures. If you don’t participate because you’re afraid, you’ll really miss out on a great ride – on a roller coaster or in life!

  2. you forgot one

    11. sometimes you s**t your pants on the big drops

  3. thanks alot it helped me :)

  4. these are ok reasons but i have better ones. well of course i do.

  5. i love these, i sent them to my friend who’s going through a hard time right now. she said it really made her laugh.

    • Good for your friend I wish the bad time pases away, send your friend more pictures soshe files good. :)

  6. wwaaaaaa tq, this is so inspiring.. can i take some points for my essay?? :-) X-D

  7. yeah… this is indeed very inspiring…
    is it ok if i use few points for my essay too…
    hope u understand…
    thank you so much…!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. […] have been plenty of people who have compared life to a rollercoaster.  Things may be headed up or they may be headed down. You might be living a “mountaintop […]

  9. i feel like vomit when i ride on such things …

  10. lol, using this for a essay too =D

    Anyone else got any points?

  11. Your post eminded me of these lines from the movie Parenthood (1989):

    Grandma: You know, when I was nineteen, Grandpa took me on a roller coaster.
    Gil (Grandma’s son-in-law): Oh?
    Grandma: Up, down, up, down. Oh, what a ride!
    Gil: What a great story. [said very sarcastically]
    Grandma: I always wanted to go again. You know, it was just so interesting to me that a ride could make me so frightened, so scared, so sick, so excited, and so thrilled all together! Some didn’t like it. They went on the merry-go-round. That just goes around. Nothing. I like the roller coaster. You get more out of it.”

  12. listen to Bill Hicks – It’s just a ride
    on youtube. Its also about life as a ride in a roller coaster. but he is a genious.

  13. luv it

  14. I am a yearbook advisor at a an inner city high school in Los Angeles. Our theme this year is “Life is a Roller Coaster; we are all on this ride together.” My students love this list, we were wondering if we could obtain permission from you to use it in our yearbook publication. Please let us know.

  15. i just love these few lines because its true!!!!!

  16. I want to reference this post in a blog im doing later this week. My name is Tim Gillette the Rocker life coach.

    It has been a great inspiration I want to use some of it to work in this weeks themes.

    Tim

  17. […] you look at The Jones View blog , you will see a blog based on 10 reasons why life is like a roller coaster ride. I want to […]

  18. You wait in line for a roller coaster then this goes into your mind. Wow, I wish I were as smart as you are.

  19. whoa i just read this. i am so late lol. anyway, this is so TRUE!!! can i use this for my story? :)

  20. Excellent, thank you for posting this. I have just shared this on my timeline: http://www.facebook.com/DavidAlexandersPersonal

  21. […] The future is one of the scariest things on this earth because no one can predict it.  People say life is like a roller coaster, but I would disagree.  Sure it has its ups and downs, but before you even get on the roller […]

  22. […] coaster image found here. Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmail This entry was posted in Outside the Box. Bookmark the […]

  23. I am a toastmaster member, and i came up to a theme of the meeting “roller coaster of life”,i was recently in Ferrari World Yas Island abudhabi,UAE,and it has the worlds fastest roller coaster, which made me scared…and i wanted to connect the emotions,feelings during that time in real life, i tried to type it in internet for some speech supplement, and i found yours, thanks a lot for the big help,must add!!!

    sorrow,burdens,triumphs pass with high speed without your knowledge…

  24. I used this for my MA thesis where I write about Woody Allen’s portrayal of New York and in Annie Hall Alvy compares his life to a rollercoaster. Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

